Slovakia Will Be in Red Category for Risk of Contagion from Monday, Estonia Will Be Dark Red

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by the risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), which will take effect on Monday, 4 October. Slovakia and Luxembourg will be in the red category. Hungary and Liechtenstein will move to the orange category. The dark red category will grow to include Estonia. On the contrary, Malta and the Azores will go green.

The category of countries with a low risk of contagion (the green category) includes Malta, Poland, the Vatican City State and the Azores. Of the non-European countries or parts thereof, it includes Australia, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Rwanda, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay and Taiwan. 

The next category contains countries which have a moderate risk of contagion (the orange category). This category of countries includes Andorra, Denmark, San Marino, Sweden, Spain, including the Balearic and Canary Islands, Italy, Lichtenstein, Iceland, Finland, France, Hungary, Monaco, the Netherlands and Portugal, including Madeira.

When returning from green, orange, red and dark red countries, it is necessary to complete an arrival form. Before entering the Czech Republic or at latest 5 days after entry, it is necessary to take an antigen or RT-PCR test.

The traffic light system also includes the category of countries with high risk (red category). This category currently includes Bulgaria, Belgium, Ireland, Croatia, Cyprus, Norway, Latvia, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Germany, Austria, Romania, Greece and Switzerland. The same rules as for returning from dark red countries apply to returning from countries in the red category.

The category of countries with very high risk (dark red category), which will now also include Estonia, also contains Lithuania, Slovenia and other third countries outside the EU. Persons returning from red and dark red countries must complete an arrival form and take an antigen or PCR test even before returning to the Czech Republic, if they are using public transport to travel. These persons are also obliged to undergo a PCR test no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arrival in the Czech Republic. Until then, they must remain in self-isolation. When travelling to the Czech Republic using individual transport, a test is not required before commencing travel, but a RT-PCR test must be taken no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arriving in the Czech Republic. Until then, self-isolation is required.

The conditions of testing and self-isolation when returning do not apply to persons fully vaccinated at least 14 days earlier (14 days after the second dose in the case of a two-dose vaccination scheme, or 14 days after the one dose in the case of a one-dose vaccination scheme) or those who have recovered from COVID-19 in the past 180 days. The obligation to complete an arrival form remains in effect.

The vaccination of third-country citizens who have completed vaccination from a non-EU country with a vaccine approved by the European Medicines Agency or its equivalent vaccine approved by the World Health Organization for emergency use is also recognised. These persons must also have been issued a verifiable certificate, which is published in the list of certificates on the website of the Ministry of Health.  This may also include vaccinations from countries for which an implementing act has been concluded and they issue a certificate under the EU COVID regulation. The complete conditions for returning to the Czech Republic from abroad during the COVID-19 pandemic are available here (only in the Czech language).

Family members of citizens of the Czech Republic or other EU Member States are allowed to come to the country and apply for a visa.

A list of countries according to risk of infection can be found here.