On Monday, Romania will be removed from the list of countries with a low risk of contagion, whereas Tunisia will be added to it

Based on available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) the Ministry of Health has evaluated the epidemiological situation and updated the list of countries with a low risk of COVID-19 contagion. Effective from Monday, 3 August 2020, Romania will be removed from the list of countries with a low risk of contagion and when returning from Romania, it will be necessary to take a test for COVID-19 or go into quarantine. On the contrary, the risk of contagion is now low in Tunisia. Employees from Spain will be obliged to submit a negative test.


From Monday, Czech citizens and foreigners who arrive from Romania will have to report to the respective regional public health authority and pass a test for COVID-19, or remain in quarantine.

The same measures also apply to all countries which are not on the list of countries with a low risk of contagion – most non-European countries.

On the contrary, citizens travelling from Tunisia will have no obligations during their return. This country will be added to the list of countries with low risk from Monday.

Employers must require a negative test for COVID-19 from employees from Bulgaria, Portugal, Luxembourg, Sweden, Romania and as of Monday also employees from Spain. The test result must be from the Czech Republic and must be no more than 4 days old.

This rule also applies to countries that are not on the list of countries with a low risk of COVID-19 (most countries outside the EU). It also applies to the citizens of these countries who spent more than 12 hours in the territory of the given countries in the past 14 days. If these persons do not submit a test, they cannot be allowed to enter the given employer’s facilities and workplaces. The exception applies to persons who are merely transiting via the Czech Republic and do not stay for more than 12 hours.

The need for foreign workers from some countries to have a negative test for COVID-19 is a response to the increased number of cases of infection occurring among foreign workers. The epidemiological situation will be reviewed again in one week.

There is currently a low risk of infection (green traffic light) in all EU+ countries except Romania, though the countries, as well as the Czech Republic, do register local epicenters. No restrictions apply to Czech nationals when returning from these countries. However, these local epicenters do pose an increased epidemiological risk, which is why citizens should take this fact into consideration when planning their journeys.

If the epidemiological situation worsens, particularly in Spain, Sweden, Bulgaria and Portugal, these states may be quickly removed from the list of countries with a low risk of infection. You can fid the list of local epicenters in the EU below. A map of the EU showing the epidemiological situation is available on the website koronavirus.mzcr.cz. Additional information on travel to and from countries outside the EU can be found on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Czech Republic.

Effective from 3 August, the Ministry of Health will also allow the entry of foreigners, if their entry is in the interest of the Czech Republic and this is confirmed by a letter from the respective minister, not only for short-term stays but also for longer stays, especially as concerns foreign athletes.

The measures also newly enable the undergoing of a PCR test for the presence of COVID-19 to illegal immigrants at the healthcare facility of the Ministry of Interior. These are citizens from third countries who travelled to the Czech Republic contrary to the conditions stipulated by the protective measures and who were detailed by the Czech Police. The test will be conducted before placement in a foreigner detention facility or immediately after placement in the facility. The aim is to limit the spread of the infection among citizens detained at the facilities or persons en route to their home country.

Within the current COVID-19 epidemiological situation, we consider the following regions in individual countries to be risky:

  • Austria: Upper Austria, Vienna
  • Bulgaria: Sofia, Varna, Plovdiv
  • Croatia: Vukovarsko, Zagreb, Osječko, Split – Dalmatia
  • Portugal: Lisbon
  • Spain: Cataluna, Aragón, Navarra, País Vasco
  • Sweden: Västerbotten, Västra Götaland, Gävleborg
  • Switzerland: Genf