Most European countries have a low risk of contagion; Czechs will have to present a negative test only when returning from Portugal, Sweden, and Polish Silesia

Epidemiologists have updated the map depicting the risk related to COVID-19 contagion, called the traffic light system, which will govern the border rules from 15 June. Portugal has now been added to the countries with a high risk of contagion (red). A number of countries with moderate risk (orange) have however been moved to the low-risk category (green). The epidemiological situation in countries neighbouring the Czech Republic has changed in the case of Poland, specifically the Silesia region. This part of Poland neighbouring the Czech Republic has been moved to the red category due to the sharp increase in the number of infections there. The Ministry of Health recommends that Czech citizens research the development of the epidemiological situation in the given countries before travelling.

The division of EU Member States through the traffic light system uses three levels depending on the situation regarding the development of COVID-19 disease and the restrictions imposed on people who wish to travel from them to the Czech Republic. Green identifies countries from which both Czech citizens and foreigners can return without restrictions. Czechs can return from orange countries without restrictions. Foreigners, however, will still need to have a negative COVID-19 test no more than four days old, or go into quarantine for fourteen days upon arrival. When returning from red countries, both foreigners and Czechs will have to present a negative test.

Italy, Ireland, Denmark, France, the Netherlands, Spain, and Malta have been moved from the orange to the green category, meaning countries with a low risk of contagion. Belgium remains in the orange category, meaning a moderate risk of contagion. The situation has improved in Great Britain, which is now also in the moderate risk category.

Sweden and Portugal are among the red countries. Due to the unfavourable local development in the number of infections, red countries also include the Silesia region of southern Poland, which borders on the Moravian-Silesian region.

The parameters and criteria of the traffic light system are based on the evaluation of the epidemiological criteria in each country, such as the number of infected people per 100,000 inhabitants. Experts from the ranks of epidemiologists, the Ministry of Health, regional public health authorities, the Ministry of Interior, and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs cooperate in the system.

The measure comes into full effect on 15 June. Border restrictions have been cancelled between the Czech Republic and Austria, Slovakia, and Hungary, where the epidemiological situation has been stabilized.

The list of countries will be updated weekly depending on the current epidemiological situation.