Latvia and Estonia are to be removed from the list of countries with a low risk of contagion. Cyprus and the Balearic Islands are moving to the yellow category

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries with a low risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). Latvia and Estonia have now been moved to the red category. From Monday, 30 November, a PCR test or quarantine will be mandatory upon returning from these countries, as well as the completion of an arrival form. On the contrary, Cyprus and the Spanish Balearic Islands have been moved to the yellow category.

Latvia and Estonia have thus joined the majority of European countries, which are classified in the red category. Travellers who have spent more than 12 hours in these countries in the past 14 days are obliged to complete an arrival form before returning to the Czech Republic. They must also submit the result of a PCR test to the competent regional public health authority within 7 days of arrival. After returning, they may also submit the result of a PCR test from any other EU country which is no more than 72 hours old. This obligation does not apply to persons under 5 years of age. 

Until the result of the test is known, those persons concerned should act with caution and restrict their contact with vulnerable population groups, in particular with senior citizens. They should also consider working from home if the nature of their job allows.

Cyprus and the Spanish Balearic Islands will be classified in the yellow category starting on Monday. This category also includes Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Iceland, Norway, the Canary Islands and the Portuguese Azores and Madeira. When returning from these countries, foreigners who work or study in the Czech Republic must submit the results of a PCR test, even before entering their workplace or the educational institution where they are studying.

The traffic light system also regulates the category of green countries where none of these obligations apply. However, given the current epidemiological situation across Europe, there are no European countries classified in this category at present.

The parameters and criteria of the so-called traffic light system are based on evaluation of the epidemiological criteria and indicators in each country.

A list of countries according to risk of infection can be found here.