Israel is now in the green category of countries according to the risk of contagion. Slovakia and the Canary Islands move to the orange category

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). From Monday, 10 May, Israel will move to the green category. Slovakia and the Canary Islands will now be orange.

After returning from dark red countries, which include European Union Member States and third countries that are not stated in other categories, it is necessary to undergo a first test before entering the territory of the Czech Republic.

The red category, which includes countries with a high risk of contagion, still includes Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Italy, Monaco, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Austria, Poland, Estonia, Hungary, Romania, Greece, Germany, Slovenia, Switzerland, Spain and San Marino.

The measures will continue to include the obligation to take a PCR test at the latest within 5 days after returning to the Czech Republic if arriving from a red country, and at the earliest on the 5th day after returning from a dark red country. Until then, they must remain in self-isolation. The obligation to complete an arrival form before arrival remains in effect. Only the green category is exempted from these obligations.

There are also changes in the orange category, which will include the Slovakia and the Canary Islands from Monday, 10 May. The oragne category already includes Finland, Norway, Ireland, Iceland, Malta, Portugal and the Balearic Islands.

When returning from countries with a high risk of contagion (red category) and countries with a moderate risk of contagion (yellow category), a test before returning to the Czech Republic will only be required if the given person uses public transit to return.

Additionally, on preventive grounds, persons returning from countries in the orange, red and dark red categories are obliged to wear a respirator everywhere outside their homes for a period of fourteen days, including outdoors.

The traffic light system also includes the category of green countries where none of the aforementioned obligations apply. Israel has newly been added to this category. It will join the Vatican City and, from the non-EU countries, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and Thailand.

Given the incidence of new mutations of the COVID-19 disease and the community transmission across Europe, the ECDC recommends that all persons postpone their travel unless absolutely essential. The Ministry of Health is also reacting to the occurrence of the new mutations of the coronavirus. Due to the possible spread of these new variants of the virus, the Ministry of Health has prohibited travel to countries with an extremely high risk of the spread of these mutations. This specifically concerns Botswana, Brazil, India, South Africa, Kenya, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Peru, Swaziland/Eswatini, Tanzania (including the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

A list of countries according to the risk of infection can be found here.