Germany, Denmark, Lichtenstein, Iceland and Andorra will be in the dark red according to the risk of contagion. Romania, the Canary Islands and Madeira will be red

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by the risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). The list will take effect on Monday, 22 November. Germany, Denmark, Lichtenstein, Iceland and Andorra will now be in the dark red category. Romania, the Canary Islands and Madeira will move to the red category. The orange category will now include Spain.

The category of countries with a low risk of contagion (the green category) includes the Vatican City State. Of the non-European countries or parts thereof, it includes Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Chile, Hong Kong, Jordan, Colombia, Korea, Canada, Qatar, Kuwait, Macau, Namibia, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Peru, the United Arab Emirates, Rwanda, the Oriental Republic of Uruguay and Taiwan.

The next category contains countries which have a moderate risk of contagion (the orange category). This category of countries includes Spain, Malta, France, Italy, Monaco and Portugal incl. the Azores.

When returning from green, orange, red and dark red countries, it is necessary to complete an arrival form. Before entering the Czech Republic or at latest 5 days after entry, it is necessary to take an antigen or RT-PCR test.

The traffic light system also includes the category of countries with high risk (red category). This category currently includes Finland, Luxembourg, Madeira, Norway, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Sweden, Switzerland, the Canary Islands and Balearic Islands. The same rules as for returning from dark red countries apply to returning from countries in the red category.

The category of countries with a very high risk (dark red category), contains Andorra, Belgium, Bulgaria, Denmark, Croatia, Lichtenstein, Latvia, Hungary, Germany, the Netherlands, Ireland, Iceland, Austria, Greece, Estonia, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia and other third countries outside the EU. Persons returning from red and dark red countries must complete an arrival form and take an antigen or PCR test before returning to the Czech Republic, if they are using public transport to travel. These persons are also obliged to undergo a PCR test no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arrival in the Czech Republic. When travelling to the Czech Republic using individual transport, a test is not required before commencing travel, but a RT-PCR test must be taken no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arriving in the Czech Republic.

The return testing policy does not apply to persons who are at least 14 days post-full vaccination (14 days after the second dose in the case of a two-dose schedule, 14 days post-vaccination in the case of a single-dose schedule) or to those who have had COVID-19 in the past 180 days. The obligation to complete an arrival form remains in effect. The vaccination of third-country citizens who have completed vaccination from a non-EU country with a vaccine approved by the European Medicines Agency or its equivalent vaccine approved by the World Health Organization for emergency use is also recognised. These persons must also have been issued a verifiable certificate, which is published in the list of certificates on the website of the Ministry of Health.  This may also include vaccinations from countries for which an implementing act has been concluded and they issue a certificate under the EU COVID regulation. The complete conditions for returning to the Czech Republic from abroad during the COVID-19 pandemic are available here.