Cyprus to be included in the dark red category of countries ranked according to risk of contagion

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by the risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), which will take effect on Monday, 19 July. The traffic light system regulates the categories of countries to which respective anti-epidemic measures apply when returning to the Czech Republic. Cyprus will now be in the dark red category. The red category will be extended to include Andorra, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands and the Azores. Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Lichtenstein, Greece and Madeira will be yellow from Monday.

The category of countries with a low risk of contagion (green category) currently includes Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Montenegro, Estonia, Iceland, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Germany, Norway, Poland, Austria, San Marino, North Macedonia, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland and Vatican City. From among the non-European countries or parts thereof, it includes Australia, Hong Kong, Israel, Japan, Korea, Canada, Lebanon, Macau, New Zealand, Singapore, USA, Thailand and Taiwan.

The next category contains countries which have a moderate risk of contagion (yellow category). This category includes Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Ireland, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Greece and Madeira.

When returning from green and yellow countries, it is necessary to complete an arrival form. Before entering the Czech Republic or at latest 5 days after entry, it is necessary to take an antigen or RT-PCR test.

The traffic light system also includes the category of countries with high risk (red category). This category currently includes Andorra, Luxemburg Malta, the Netherlands, Spain incl. the Balearic and Canary Islands and Portugal incl. the Azores. As of 1 July, the same rules as for returning from dark red countries apply to returning from countries in the red category.

Other countries belong to the category of countries with very high risk (dark red category). Persons returning from red and dark red countries must complete an arrival form and take an antigen or PCR test even before returning, if they are using public transport to travel. These persons are also obliged to undergo a PCR test no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arrival in the Czech Republic. Until then, they must remain in self-isolation. When travelling to the Czech Republic using individual transport, a test is not required before commencing travel, but a RT-PCR test must be taken no sooner than 5 days and no later than 14 days after arriving in the Czech Republic. Until then, self-isolation is required.

The conditions of testing and self-isolation when returning do not apply to persons fully vaccinated at least 14 days earlier (14 days after the second dose in the case of a two-dose vaccination scheme, in the case of a one-dose vaccination scheme, 14 days after the one dose) or those who have recovered from COVID-19 in the past 180 days. The obligation to complete an Arrival form remains in effect. The complete conditions for returning to the Czech Republic from abroad during the COVID-19 pandemic are available here.

The Ministry of Health strongly discourages, unless absolutely necessary, travel to countries with an extremely high risk of the spread of these mutations (the black category) due to the possible spread of new variants of the virus. This specifically concerns Botswana, Brazil, India, South Africa, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Russia, Swaziland/Eswatini, Tanzania (including the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba), Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe. However, even when returning from these countries, persons who were fully vaccinated at least 14 days earlier or those who have recovered from COVID-19 in the past 180 days are only obliged to complete an arrival form and need not undergo testing or self-isolation. Others must undergo a PCR test before travelling to the Czech Republic, and remain in self-isolation for 10 days concluded with a negative PCR test.A list of countries according to risk of infection can be found here.