Cyprus, Lithuania and Sweden to now be included in the red category of countries ranked according to risk of contagion. Malta to move to the green category

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). From Monday, 31 May, Cyprus, Lithuania and Sweden will move to the red category of countries. Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, Italy and Poland will move to the orange category. Malta will now be in the green category.

After returning from dark red countries, which include European Union Member States and third countries that are not stated in other categories, it is necessary to undergo a first test before entering the territory of the Czech Republic.

The red category, which lists countries with a high risk of contagion, will include Cyprus, Lithuania and Sweden. This category currently includes Andorra, Belgium, Denmark, France, Monaco, Netherlands, Croatia, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Estonia, Greece, Germany, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland and Spain.

The measures will continue to include the obligation to take a PCR test at the latest within 5 days after returning to the Czech Republic if arriving from a red country, and at the earliest on the 5th day but at latest on the 14th day after returning from a dark red country. Until then, they must remain in self-isolation. The obligation to complete an arrival form before arrival remains in effect. Only the green category is exempted from these obligations.

There are also changes in the orange category, which will include Austria, Bulgaria, Hungary, Italy and Poland from Monday, 31 May. The orange category already includes Romania, Finland, Norway, Ireland, the Canary Islands, Portugal and the Balearic Islands.

When returning from countries with a high risk of contagion (red category) and countries with a moderate risk of contagion (orange category), a test before returning to the Czech Republic will only be required if the given person uses public transit to return. Additionally, on preventive grounds, persons returning from countries in the orange, red and dark red categories are obliged to wear a respirator everywhere outside their homes for a period of fourteen days, including outdoors.

If the traveler from countries with a high risk of contagion (red category) and from countries with a moderate risk of contagion (orange category) had their first dose of vaccine at least 22 days ago, they may arrive in the Czech Republic only with a completed arrival form. However, they must present a national certificate of performed vaccination against COVID-19 issued by the Czech Republic, Hungary, Germany, Poland, Austria, Slovakia or Slovenia.

When travelling from EU+ countries with a moderate and high risk of contagion (orange and red categories), persons who have been fully vaccinated in the Czech Republic are not obliged to take a test and are not restricted in movement upon returning.

The traffic light system also includes the category of green countries where none of the aforementioned obligations apply. This category now includes Malta as well as Iceland and City. From the non-EU countries, there is Australia, Israel, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and Thailand.

Given the incidence of new mutations of the COVID-19 disease and the community transmission across Europe, the ECDC recommends that all persons postpone their travel unless absolutely essential. The Ministry of Health is also reacting to the occurrence of the new mutations of the coronavirus. Due to the possible spread of these new variants of the virus, the Ministry of Health has prohibited travel to countries with an extremely high risk of the spread of these mutations. This specifically concerns Botswana, Brazil, India, South Africa, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Nepal, Peru, Swaziland/Eswatini, Tanzania (including the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

A list of countries according to the risk of infection can be found here.