Belgium and Denmark to Move to Red Category of Countries Ranked by Risk of Contagion Finland, Ireland and Malta Will Be Orange, Iceland Green

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries ranked by risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). Starting from Monday, 19 April, Belgium and Denmark will be moving to the red category. Finland, Ireland and Malta will be orange. Iceland will be placed in the green category.

After returning from dark-red countries, which include European Union Member States and third countries that are not stated in other categories, it is necessary to undergo a first test before entering the territory of the Czech Republic.

The red category, which lists countries with a high risk of contagion, will now include Belgium and Denmark. They will thus join Italy, Monaco, Norway, Lithuania, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Latvia, Austria, Romania, Greece, Germany, Slovakia, Switzerland, Spain and the Canary Islands.

The measures will continue to include the obligation to take a PCR test at the latest within 5 days after returning to the Czech Republic if arriving from a red country, and at the earliest on the 5th day after returning from a dark red country. Until then, they must remain in self-isolation. The obligation to complete an arrival form before arrival remains in effect. Only the green category is exempted from these obligations.

There are also changes in the orange category, which will include Finland, Ireland and Malta from Monday, 19 April. The orange category already includes Portugal and the Balearic Islands.

When returning from countries with a high risk of contagion (red category) and countries with a moderate risk of contagion (orange category), a test before returning to the Czech Republic will only be required if the given person uses public transit to return.

Additionally, on preventive grounds, persons returning from countries in the orange, red and dark red categories are obliged to wear a respirator everywhere outside their homes for a period of fourteen days, including outdoors.

The traffic light system also includes the category of green countries where none of the aforementioned obligations apply. This category currently includes, in addition to Iceland, the Vatican City and, of the non-EU countries, Australia, South Korea, New Zealand, Singapore and Thailand.

Given the incidence of new mutations of the COVID-19 disease and the community transmission across Europe, the ECDC recommends that all persons postpone their travel unless absolutely essential. The Ministry of Health is also reacting to the occurrence of the South African mutation of the coronavirus. Due to the possible spread of this variant of the virus, the Ministry of Health has prohibited travel to countries with an extremely high risk of the spread of this mutation. This specifically concerns Botswana, Brazil, South Africa, Kenya, Colombia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Peru, Swaziland/Eswatini, Tanzania (including the islands of Zanzibar and Pemba), Zambia and Zimbabwe.

A list of countries according to the risk of infection can be found here