Covid-19 epidemic in the Czech Republic


COVID-19 information hotline (dial 1221) is also available in English from anywhere in the Czech Republic daily from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Detailed information about covid-19 epidemic here (Czech language)

Vaccinating foreign nationals against COVID-19 in CZ

FFP2 respirators will be mandatory in shops, service provision outlets, out-patient healthcare facilities and public transport from Thursday

The Ministry of Health, in response to unfavourable trends in the COVID-19 epidemic, has come up with an extraordinary anti-epidemic measure that, from Thursday, 25 February, stipulates for persons over 15 years of age the duty to wear a respirator without an exhalation valve with a filtration effectiveness of at least 95% in accordance with the relevant standards (e.g. FFP2/KN 95) or two medical facemasks, one on top of the other, in the indoor space of retail outlets, service provision outlets, international airports, public transport, including platforms and waiting rooms and in motor vehicles, provided persons from one household are not travelling in them. Press release (22. 2. 2021)

At the request of regional governors, government declares 14-day state of emergency

At an extraordinary meeting on Sunday, 14 February 2021, the government of Andrej Babiš declared a state of emergency for the Czech Republic due to the spread of the SARS CoV-S coronavirus. It comes into effect on at midnight from the 14th to 15th February and will last 14 days, until 28 February. It thus follows on from the state of emergency which expires at midnight on 14 February. Press release (14. 2. 2021)

The epidemic situation in the Czech Republic is still unfavourable, the Czech government has restricted movement in the Cheb, Trutnov and Sokolov districts

The situation surrounding the COVID-19 disease in the Czech Republic is still critical.  The healthcare system is under immense strain. The situation is also significantly complicated by the incidence of the British coronavirus variant. Therefore, the government has restricted movement in the Cheb, Trutnov and Sokolov districts.
Press release (12. 2. 2021)

Ireland and Lithuania have moved to the red category of countries, Madeira will now be dark red

The Ministry of Health has updated the list of countries with a low risk of contagion on the basis of available data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC). From Monday, 15 February, Ireland and Lithuania will be moved to the red category. The Portuguese island of Madeira will become dark red. On the contrary, Iceland will become green and Denmark will be added to the yellow category. Press release (12. 2. 2021)

The government has decided to restrict movement in the three worst affected districts

Stricter rules for the movement of persons will apply from 12 February 2021 to three Czech districts – Cheb, Sokolov and Trutnov, which are currently affected the most by the COVID-19 pandemic. Andrej Babiš’s government decided to introduce these territorial crisis measures at an extraordinary meeting on 11 February 2021. At the same time, it decided to send a total of one million masks from State reserves to the affected areas. Press release (11. 2. 2021)

The government asks the Chamber of Deputies for another 30 days of the state of emergency, and wants to simplify the support for enterpreneurs

The government will ask the Chamber of Deputies again for extending the state of emergency by 30 days, i.e. until 16 March. The proposal of the request that will be addressed by the MPs at their Thursday meeting was approved by Andrej Babiš’s cabinet at the government meeting on Monday, 8 February 2021. Press release (9. 2. 2021)

ECDC reacts to the incidence of new mutations of COVID-19, i.e. a new dark red category of countries is added to the travel traffic light system

In reaction to the findings of European Centre for Disease Control (ECDC), the European Council has agreed to intensify travel measures. As of 5 February, the traffic light system will have a new dark red category, which will include countries evaluated as high-risk. Press release (4. 2. 2021)